If you come to a Buenos Aires wine tasting you will hear a lot of terms you have never heard before. Most of these terms will refer to how to properly taste and analyze the wine your drinking. Of course you can enjoy a bottle of Argentine wine without knowing these terms but for those who want to turn their passion for wines into knowledge the next few terms I will define are the building blocks necessary for one who wants to become a master of wine.

wine_smell_sm

First in this article I will cover all you need to know about “the nose” of a wine. In the simplest terms the nose describes the scent or the aroma of the wine. However, unless it is a very bad wine the nose of the wine is not simple at all. The aroma of each different wine is distinct. Before attending a few Argentine wine tastings I thought the only thing I could smell in wine was grapes and alcohol. Now when I am trying a new bottle of boutique Argentine wine I get a range of aromas coming from wine. Depending on the bottle I can smell fruity aromas like red fruit and black fruit along with other aromas like chocolate, pepper, and leather. The nose is also important in analyzing if the wine is still good or not. Basically if it smells like gas or burning tires I would get a different bottle.

By looking at the color of the wine you can sometimes predict the intensity of the nose. In general the darker the wine the heavy or more intense the nose will be. It is also important to note that with a good wine one smell is not enough. With a very good wine many complex scents can emerge from the wine over time. These complex scents are usually referred to as the bouquet of the wine. There is so much more that can be said about the “nose” of a wine, but for now I think I have given enough information to give anyone a advantage at their next Argentine wine tasting.

