I like to keep my pallet fresh and our tasting notes on our wines even more fresh since wines go about aging and evolving. So last night I thought that since I had a bottle of the San Gimignano Syrah Roble 2007 sitting there, staring at me, begging me to drink it, I would take my time and rewrite my notes. I had this with a salmon burger with tartar sauce and a green salad with avocado. That combination was decent and I think this wine could do very well with fish, just not with tartar sauce. Here is the updated version:

Eye: Red leather jacket.

Nose: Raspberry and blackberry jam. Faint hints of spice.

Mouth: Super easy to drink, well balanced and smooth. On the attack, ripe raspberry and blackberry with hints of black pepper and cedar toward the finish.

Oak: 12 months in new French and American oak.

Aging/cellaring potential: 5-7 years conservatively.

Pairing: Simpler pastas, mild cheeses, heavier fishes.

